TRANSNET schedule at OFC 2021

TRANSNET members will be participating in several technical sessions at the 2021 Optical Networking and Communication Conference – full details below.

The Optical Networking and Communication Conference (OFC) is the premier event in telecom and data center optics and will be held in an all-virtual format from Sunday 6 June to Friday 11 June 2021. TRANSNET members are scheduled to participate in the technical programme, sharing some of our latest research through invited and contributed oral and poster presentations. Please find our complete schedule below.


Monday 7 June 2021

Presenter: Pedro Jorge Freire de Carvalho Souza
Title: Experimental Study of Deep Neural Network Equalizers Performance in Optical Links (M3H.2)
Abstract: We propose a convolutional-recurrent channel equalizer and experimentally demonstrate 1dB Q-factor improvement both in single-channel and 96xWDM, DP­16QAM transmission over 450km of TWC fiber. The new equalizer outperforms previous NN-based approaches and a 3-stcps-pcr-span DBP.
Session: AI Techniques and Advanced Processing
Time: 10:15 – 10:30 PDT (18:15 – 18:30 BST)

Presenter: Ronit Sohanpal
Title: Parametric Frequency Comb Generation Using Silicon Core Fiber – *Top Scored Paper* (M5B.5)
Abstract: We demonstrate all-fiber frequency comb generation using a 10-mm-length silicon core fiber as the parametric mixer. We achieved 8 dB spectral flatness over 20 nm bandwidth, generating 90 lines at 26 GHz line spacing.
Session: Nonlinear Optical Devices
Time: 14:30 – 14:45 PDT (22:30 – 22:45 BST)

Ronit’s paper has been selected as a finalist for the Corning Outstanding Student Paper Competition, an award that recognises innovation, research excellence, and presentation abilities in optical communications. Ronit will present his paper at a private conference session ahead of the main technical meeting. One first-prize winner receives 1,500 USD and two honorable mentions each receive 1,000 USD. Best of luck!

Tuesday 8 June 2021

Presenter: Callum Deakin
Title: Performance of Dual Frequency Comb Channelizers for RF Signal Processing (Tu5F.4)
Abstract: We analyse the performance limits of dual frequency comb based photonic signal processors. We show that the relative phase noise between the two combs is critical to defining the signal-to-noise-ratio of such systems.
Session: RF Photonics I
Time: 15:00 - 15:15 PDT (23:00 – 23:15 BST)

Wednesday 9 June 2021

Presenter: Thomas Gerard
Title: Fast and Uniform Optically-Switched Data Centre Networks Enabled by Amplitude Caching (W1E.2)
Abstract: We propose amplitude caching to optically equalise burst mode traffic without delay stages. Through a fast, optically-switched system prototype, we demonstrate burst-mode penalties can be mitigated to within 0.4 dB at the KR4 HD-FEC level.
Session: Optical Networks for Data Center and Edge
Time: 03:15 – 03:30 PDT (11:15 – 11:30 BST)

Presenter: Josh Nevin
Title: Analysis of the Extremes of SNR Time Series Data Using Extreme Value Statistics (W6A.35)
Abstract: We demonstrate the suitability of extreme value statistics for the analysis of the extreme values of SNR time series data from a deployed network. Underlying theory, potential use cases and practical considerations are discussed.
Session: Poster Session I
Time: 17:00 – 19:00 PDT (01:00 – 03:00 BST)

Thursday 10 June 2021

Presenter: Zhixin Liu
Title: Clock-Synchronized Clock and Data Recovery to Enable Sub-Nanosecond Optically-Switched Networks – Invited Paper (Th4E.1)
Abstract: We review the clock-synchronized approach to clock and data recovery, which enables sub-nanosecond switching time in optically switched networks and explore the impact of factors such as temperature and jitter on performance and scalability.
Session: DCI Switching/Interconnect Subsystems
Time: 12:30 – 13:00 PDT (20:30-21:00 BST)

Presenter: Zichuan Zhou
Title: Clock Synchronized Transmission of 51.2 GBd Optical Packets for Optically Switched Data Center Interconnect – *Top Scored Paper* (Th4E.2)
Abstract: We demonstrate clock-synchronized transmission of 128-byte optical packets at 51.2GBd. We study the impact of reference clock phase noise on the clock phase misalignment and system scalability for high baud rate DC interconnects.
Session: DCI Switching/Interconnect Subsystems
Time: 13:00 – 13:15 PDT (21:00 – 21:15 BST)

Presenter: Xun Mu
Title: Design Optimization of Uncoupled Six-core Fibers in Standard Cladding Diameter Using Artificial Intelligence (Th1A.34)
Abstract: We report on ultra-wide-band and long-haul compatible 125µm six-core trench assisted fiber designs. The AI-optimization process considers crosstalk, effective area, and bandwidth. We show that homogeneous cores can lead to low complexity yet high-capacity fiber.
Session: Poster Session II
Time: 03:00 – 05:00 PDT (11:00 – 13:00 BST)

Presenter: Vladislav Neskorniuk
Title: Neural-Network-Based Nonlinearity Equalizer for 128 GBaud Coherent Transceivers
Abstract: We propose an efficient neural-network-based equalization jointly compensating fiber and transceiver nonlinearities for high-symbol-rate coherent short-reach links. Providing about 0.9 dB extra SNR gain, it allows achieving experimentally the record single-channel 1.48 Tbps net rate over 240 km G.652 fiber.
Session: Poster Session II
Time: 03:00 – 05:00 PDT (11:00 – 13:00 BST)

Presenter: Members of the Optical Networks Group at UCL
Abstract: Scientists from around the world provide a tour of their lab through a prerecorded video showing off their equipment, describing their experimental setup and automation techniques, and showing how they fabricate fibers and photonic devices. Each demonstration is followed by an interactive Q&A session.
Session: Educational Worldwide Lab Tour: Part Two
Time: 03:00 – 04:30 (11:00 – 12:30 BST)


Our participation in the technical sessions isn't the only way TRANSNET members are involved in OFC this year. 

Lidia Galdino and Georgios Zervas are members of the Digital Transmission Systems Subcommittee (part of Track S: Systems and Subsystems) and the Optical Networking for Data Center and Computing Applications subcommittee (part of Track N: Networks, Applications and Access), respectively.

Lidia is also an organiser of the workshop ‘Cognitive Network Automation: How Smart Can Optical Transport Networks Be?’ scheduled for Sunday 6 June. And finally, Seb Savory chairs the OFC Steering Committee and is also part of the Budget and Long-Range Planning Committees.


 Have a great conference everyone!